

# Virginia Cybersecurity Planning Committee November 7, 2022 - 10:00 am



# 7235 Beaufont Springs Dr, Mary Jackson Boardroom,

#### Call to Order:

A meeting of the Virginia Cybersecurity Planning Committee was called to order at 10:02 am. Mr. Watson welcomed the members.

### Presidina:

Michael Watson, Committee Chair, Chief Information Security Officer, Virginia IT Agency

#### Members Present:

Aliscia N. Andrews, Deputy Secretary of Homeland Security, Office of the Governor

Diane Carnohan, Chief Information Security Officer, Virginia Department of Education

Robbie Coates, Director, Grant Management and Recovery, VDEM

Adrian Compton, Tribal Administrator, Monacan Indian Nation

Charles DeKeyser, Major, Virginia Army National Guard

Michael Dent, Chief Information Security Officer, Fairfax County Department of Information Technology

Brenna R. Doherty, Chief Information Security Officer, Department of Legislative Automated Systems

John Harrison, IT Director, Franklin County

Derek M. Kestner, Information Security Officer, Supreme Court of Virginia

Benjamin Shumaker, Cyber Security Specialist, King William County Government

Beth Burgin Waller, Chair, Cybersecurity and Data Privacy Practice, Woods Rogers Vandeventer Black

Wesley Williams, Executive Director of Technology, Roanoke City Public Schools

Stephanie Williams-Hayes, Chief Information Security Officer, Virginia Department of Health

## Members Not Present:

Capt. Eric W. Gowin, Division Commander-Information Technology Division, Virginia State Police

### Staff Present:

Leslie Allen, Senior Assistant Attorney, Office of the Attorney General

Stephanie Benson, External Communication & Outreach Manager, Virginia IT Agency

Joshua Heslinga, Director of Legal & Legislative Services, Virginia IT Agency

Mylam Ly, Legal Compliance & Policy Specialist, Virginia IT Agency

## Review of Agenda:

Ms. Ly provided an overview of the agenda and corresponding items in the digital meeting packets.

#### Overview of Roberts Rules of Order:

Ms. Ly provided an overview of Robert's Rules of Order.

#### Electronic Participation Policy:

Ms. Ly provided an overview of the Electronic Participation Policy and answered questions from the members. Upon a motion by Mr. Shumaker and duly seconded by Ms. Waller, the committee unanimously voted to adopt the Electronic Participation Policy.

#### Overview of State and Local Cybersecurity Grant Program:

Mr. Heslinga provided an overview of the State and Local Cybersecurity Grant program which included: federal legislation, requirements of the federal notice of funding opportunity, state matching, planning committee membership and responsibilities, and the cybersecurity plan.

# Charter and Bylaws:

Mr. Heslinga provided an overview of the Charter and Bylaws. Upon a motion by Ms. Waller and duly seconded by Mr. Kestner, the committee unanimously voted to adopt the Charter and Bylaws. The Charter and Bylaws will be sent to the committee members to sign electronically.

### Nomination and Voting of Vice Chair:

Mr. Watson opened the floor for nominations of Vice Chair. Upon a motion by Mr. Shumaker and duly seconded by Mr. Williams, Ms. Waller was nominated as Vice Chair. After a call for any additional nominations, upon a motion by Deputy Secretary Andrews and duly seconded by Mr. Kestner, Mr. Dent was nominated for Vice Chair. Ms. Waller then withdrew from her nomination. The committee unanimously voted for Mr. Dent to become Vice Chair.

#### Public Comment Period:

There were no public comments.

# 2023 Meeting Dates:

The 2023 meeting dates were presented to the members.

#### Other Business:

Mr. Watson opened the floor for other business. There was a discussion on the role of advisors (as provided for in the committee Charter) and how names could be submitted. VITA will develop a way on the website to allow submissions for advisor nominations and will communicate the opportunity. Any questions related to this should be submitted to the Committee administrator email, <a href="mailto:cybercommittee@vita.virginia.gov">cybercommittee@vita.virginia.gov</a>. There was additional discussion on the grant parameters of the priorities and financial decisions.

#### Adjourn

Upon a motion by Deputy Secretary Andrews and duly seconded by Mr. Shumaker, the committee unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 10:55 am.